What does "Short Lived" mean (a very newbie question)

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
CommonCalluna
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

What does "Short Lived" mean (a very newbie question)

Post by CommonCalluna »

Good Morning All,

I have a silly question to ask, but if you never ask you never learn.
Would someone be so kind as to explain to me what it means when a tree is short lived?

Is there just an expected life time for some trees and no matter what care or environment you keep the plant in it will die in 'x' amount of years?

I'm new to bonsai but not to gardening, and something that's confusing me in particular is the reputation of Rosemary as being short lived.
I grow rosemary as a perrenial herb in my garden and I've never had one just up and die on me. Any time I've killed a rosemary in particular it has been 100% due to poor care or bad husbandry on my part. My relatives have rosemary hedges that have been growing on their property for decades. And even in bonsai examples you can find ancient looking rosemary bonsai or yamadori that have been kept for decades.

I've definitely caught the bonsai itch, and I'm loving collecting little tree's and making plans for them into the future, I just don't understand exactly what a tree/plant being "Short lived" means. Could I spend 10 years finally getting a little tree approaching something I'm proud of just for it to reach the end of its life as soon as it becomes a bonsai?

Thankyou for your patience with me,
CommonCalluna
KIRKY
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Flowering
Bonsai Age: 12
Bonsai Club: BSV

Re: What does "Short Lived" mean (a very newbie question)

Post by KIRKY »