Bottle Brush
Trent McKenzie
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Eucalyptus, Melaleuca
Bonsai Age: 12

Callistemon yamadori

Post by Trent McKenzie »

I have been eying off this bottlebrush in the front yard for a couple years and now I'm eager to dig it out and give it a go. The Plan is to try and split it into several trees using the deadwood of the parent tree for character and to get some air layers off the top. This will be the largest yamadori I've collected hence the reason to split it into several trees.

Was wondering if now would be a good time to dig it out or should I wait till the start of spring?

All branching is coming from ground level around the rotted away stump of the original tree.

Trent.

"mystery in trees takes you back to your childhood when you explored more than analysed" Dorothy Koreshoff
Trent McKenzie
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Re: Callistemon yamadori

Post by Trent McKenzie »

i read on the wiki that early spring is the best time but notice in this tread viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8213 that it was done at this time of year (mid summer), does anyone have a recommendation or advice the can offer me?
Trent.

"mystery in trees takes you back to your childhood when you explored more than analysed" Dorothy Koreshoff
jezz_39
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 5

Post by jezz_39 »

There does seem to be a lot of conflicting advice regarding natives, whether it be re-potting or collecting.
Personally I dont have much experience so take it with a grain of salt.

I collected many young Callistemon and Casuarina seedlings in September with about 80% success rate. These were all growing in and around a creek which surges several times a year so the soil was very wet, each tree was pulled out by hand and long tap roots were trimmed to encourage radial growth.