the power of photography

Taking good photo's of your tree's can be challenging. Discuss your ideas and tips here.
craigw60
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: many
Bonsai Age: 25
Bonsai Club: yarra valley

the power of photography

Post by craigw60 »

One of the great things this forum has done for me is encourage me to photograph my trees which shows them in a whole new light .I have been growing this banksia for about 17 years. I found it in a sand and soil yard. I always thought it was an ok tree not a star but not bad either. A couple of days ago I took some pics of it and when I opened them up on the screen my reaction was to literally recoil. It looks really bad. All those years of work and this is what I end up with. The foliage is not the best but that can be fixed next summer. The tree was repotted and defoliated in feb so next year it won't be root pruned so it can have an uninterrupted growing season, it was put in a deep pot to try and encourage the bark to start cracking, once that happens with banksia they thicken very quickly. The main problem that I can see is the tree is too tall (80cm) with no movement in the top and no taper either. I obviously need to make some hard decisions with this tree next growing season. Any ideas would be great.
Craig
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mojo Moyogi
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Maple, Elm, Hornbeam, Pine, Larch and Cedar
Bonsai Age: 22
Bonsai Club: Yarra Valley Bonsai Society

Re: the power of photography

Post by Mojo Moyogi »

Hi Craig, the camera lens is always going to be harsh on a tree. Having seen this tree in real life, I know that this tree has more depth and presence than can be seen here. The photo has de-tapered the tree a little bit and removed some of it's balance.